Southern Oregon University's Committee for Equity and Diversity is comprised of students, administrators, staff and faculty members that will provide consultation, recommendations, and guidance on how to implement EDI efforts, policies and campus practices. 

2020-2021 Membership

janelle wilson, M.A. Associate Dean of Students Office:
SU 321
 wilsonjan@sou.edu 
Amber Reed, PhD. & M.A.      Associate Professor
Sociology and Anthropology
Office: 
TA  217
 reeda4@sou.edu 
Alma Rosa Alvarez, PhD. Professor
English
Office:
CE 254
 alvarez@sou.edu 
Michele Barlow Assistant Director
Human Resources, Accessibility Coordinator
Office:
CH 159
 barlowm@sou.edu
Tracey Culbertson Assistant Director
International Programs
Office:
SU 132B
 culbertst@sou.edu
Edward Derr Student Success Coordinator Office:
CE 259
 derre@sou.edu
Angela Fleischer  Director
Equity Grievance & Titte IX Coordinator
Office:
SU 321C
 fleischea@sou.edu
Sabrina Prudhomme University Board Secretary
EDI Leadership Team
Office:
CH 107
 prudhomms@sou.edu
Jill Smedstad
Equity Coordinator 
for Sustainability and Basic Needs Resourcing
Office:
SU 310
smedstadj@sou.edu
Alex Sylvester Equity Coordinator 
for Gender and Sexuality Justice
Office:
SU 305
sylvestea@sou.edu
Patricia Syquia
Contracts Administrative Officer/Risk Manager
Office:
SH 506
syquiam@sou.edu
Neil Woolf Vice President
Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Office:
CH 120
woolfm@sou.edu
Aubrey Owens Coordinator of Disability Resources Office:
SU 164
owensa@sou.edu
Kylan de Vries Associate Professor, Sociology
Program Chair: Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies
EDI Leadership Team
Office:
TA 125A
devriesk@sou.edu
Christopher Young Assistant Director of University Housing Office:
GS
youngc9@sou.edu
Carey Sojka Assistant Professor
Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies
Office:
TA 125B
sojkac@sou.edu
Tito Onesto Student Services Associate, Pre-Nursing Advisor &
Diversity Coordinator, OHSU - Ashland Camupus
Office:
CH 241
onesto@ohsu.edu
Amanda Casto
STEM Education Instructor; 
Education Studies Program Coordinator
Office:
EP 132
castoa@sou.edu
Diana Ramos Student; Multicultural Affairs Senator, ASSOU  Office: ramosd1@sou.edu
Violet Crain Student; Vice Speaker of Senate; 
Gender Equity and Sexual Diversity Senator, ASSOU
Office: crainv@sou.edu
Sarah Loera   Office:  
Marvin Woodard Equity Coordinator 
for Racial Justice
Office:
SU 306
woodardm@sou.edu
Jonathan Chavez Baez, M.A.
Committee Chair
Assistant Director
Latino/a/x Programs & Support
EDI Leadership Team
Office:
YP 111
EP34
chavezbjo@sou.edu