Larry Gibbs

Larry Gibbs
Assistant Professor, Sociology
Office: TA 214
Phone: 541-552-6281
Email: gibbsl@sou.edu 
Research and teaching interests: Sociology of health, marriage and family formation, demography and research methods. Dr. Gibbs' bio.

Piekielek Jessica 

Jessica Piekielek
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Office: TA 222
Phone: 541-552-6599
Email: piekielj@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Conservation, environmentalism, applied anthropology, border and migration studies, Mexico, U.S., Latin America

Amber Reed

Amber Reed
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Office: TA 217
Phone: 541-552-6322
Email: reeda4@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: South Africa, youth, democracy, race, nostalgia, apartheid, and visual media. Dr. Reed's bio. 
Dr. Reed's CV

shibley Mark 

Mark Shibley
Chair, Sociology and Anthropology
Professor, Sociology and Environmental Studies
Office: TA 218
Phone: 541-552-6761
Email: shibleym@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Sociology of religion, environmental sociology, community-based research

Smith Vincent

Vincent Smith
Associate Professor, Sociology and Environmental Science & Policy
Program Chair, Environmental Science & Policy
Office: Science Building 069
Phone: 541-552-6802
Email: smithv3@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Environmental sociology, sociology of agriculture, community development, human ecology

Kelly Szott
Assistant Professor, Sociology and Human Service
Office: Ashland - TA 219 and Medford - HEC 201E 
Phone: Ashland - 541-552-8254 Medford - 541-552-8153
Email: szottk@sou.edu

Tveskov Mark 

Mark Tveskov
Professor, Anthropology
Office: TA 230
Phone: 541-552-6345
Email: tveskovm@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Archaeology, cultural resource management, cultural ecology, colonialism, identity, Native American studies, military archaeology, shell middens

deVries Kylan

Kylan Mattias de Vries
Associate Professor, Sociology and Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies
Office: TA 125A
Phone: 541-552-6759
Email: devriesk@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Intersectionality; transgender studies; queer studies; queer of color theory; critical race studies; critical mixed race studies; sociology of gender; social psychology (with emphasis on identity, collective identity, and symbolic interactionism); qualitative research methods

 

 Affiliated and Emeritus Faculty and Staff

BattistellaMaureen headshot2017

Maureen Flanagan Battistella
Assistant Professor Affiliate and Research Anthropologist
Office: TA 117
Phone: 552-6763
Email: battistem@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Cultural studies of southern Oregon grape growers and wine makers; land use changes and heritage agriculture; culinary narrative and regional foodways

Johnson katie

Katie Johnson
Lab Manager, SOU Laboratory of Anthropology
Office: TA 230
Phone: 541-552-6764
Email: Johnsonka@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests:  GIS, cultural resource management, zooarchaeology, cartography, photography

Chambers Anne

Anne Chambers
Emeritus Professor, Anthropology
Email: achambers@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Applied anthropology, gender, development, Oceania, Italy

Fields Echo

Echo Fields
Emeritus Professor, Sociology and Human Service 
Email: fieldse@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Organizations,non-profit sector, politics and public policy, social inequality

Jean Maxwell
Emeritus Professor, Sociology and Anthropology
Email: maxwell@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Ethnographic research, Native North America, Indian education programs, communities

Phillips James

Jim Phillips
Emeritus Professor, Anthropology
Email: phillipj@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Latin America, immigration policy, refugees.

Rose Chelsea

Chelsea Rose
Research Archaeologist, SOU Laboratory of Anthropology
Office: TA 230
Phone: 541-552-6764
Email: rosec@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: historical archaeology of the American West, Chinese immigrant diaspora, public archaeology, science in the media, material culture studies

Skuratowicz Eva

Eva Skuratowicz
Director, SOU Research Center
Adjunct Professor, Sociology
Office: TA 201
Phone: 552-6278
Email: skuratoe@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: Gender, feminism, work and occupations, organizations, regional studies, applied research, qualitative methods, survey methodology

Sojika Carey

Carey Jean Sojka
Assistant Professor, Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies 
Phone: 541-552-6750
Office: TA 125B
Email: sojkac@sou.edu

Research and teaching interests: Sociological embodiment, sexuality, gender, race, transgender studies, queer theory, feminism

Vicky Sturtevant
Emeritus Professor, Sociology
Email: sturtevant@sou.edu
Research and teaching interests: environmental sociology, rural sociology, community-based forestry management