You should consider your part-time position as an important job that can impact your future work experience. You are now part of the SOU work force and your department depends on you. The following are your rights and responsibilities as a student employee:
Individuals working as student employees in regular (non-work study) student employee positions, are eligible for sick leave through Oregon Sick Time Law. Student employees accrue 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Any sick leave taken counts as hours worked in the week. In some instances, the supervisor can reschedule work during the week so that the student does not miss any working hours and sick leave will not be taken. You can find additional information here: Oregon Sick Time Law. Student employees are also covered by workers' compensation insurance for on-the-job illnesses or injuries. Student employees are not eligible to receive other employment benefits such as healthcare coverage, shift differential, paid holidays, vacation leave, retirement, unemployment, or draws/pay advances.
Meal and Work Breaks
Work breaks are computed on the following basis:
(a) Paid fifteen (15) minute breaks for every four (4) hours straight time, to be taken in the middle of the work period.
(b) Student employees cannot work more than six (6) consecutive hours without an unpaid meal break.
(c) Student employees taking a meal break during the work shift must sign/ check out during the meal break.
On-the Job Illness/Injury Workers’ Compensation
A student employee must report any work-related injury or illness to the student employee’s immediate supervisor, or in that person’s absence, any department supervisor or the department director immediately after it occurs and at the latest before the student employee leaves work. Workers’ Compensation and Incident Report forms are available in the department office or from Human Resources, CH 110. The Student Health Center is authorized to treat all injured student employees. Student employees may also obtain treatment from their personal physician. In an emergency, call Campus Security at 552-6911, call 911, and/or seek medical attention immediately at the nearest emergency facility. Detailed information about on-the- job injuries/illness is available from Human Resources at 552-8119 or Campus Public Safety at 552-6258.
Students with Disabilities
Students with disabilities have the right to a discrimination-free workplace. This means:
- Questions related to a disability cannot be asked during an interview, for example, though the employer can ask if you can do the essential functions of the job, with or without accommodation.
- Disability cannot be considered as a basis for any punitive employment actions, such as firing, lack of promotion, or disciplinary procedures.
- Student employees have the right to ask for reasonable disability-related adjustments in the workplace, just as any other employee does. Requests for adjustment, or accommodation, should be made to your immediate supervisor. Decisions about what accommodations will be made should be made with the employee and the supervisor working together. Disability Resources: Disability Resources can assist in this process if requested.
- Some aspects of some jobs cannot be accommodated; for example, we all want airplane pilots to be able to see, and attendance at a job tends to be essential as well. However, most accommodations are easily made.
- If you are receiving accommodations in your classes, some of those accommodations may be helpful on the job as well. However, new situations may reduce certain barriers and raise others. Discuss these with your supervisor.
Student employees are covered by Title 1 of the Americans with Disabilities Act (1990, as amended) and Oregon's disability law, ORS 659.400.
- Keep an accurate record of hours worked and submit correct payroll information to your supervisor by the stated deadlines.
- Maintain enrollment necessary for student employment eligibility.
- Coordinate your work hours with your supervisor according to the department’s needs and your own class and study schedule.
- Perform assigned duties promptly and competently.
- Be dependable and always report to work on time-excessive tardiness or absenteeism is grounds for disciplinary action.
- Arrive at the office prepared to work-refrain from studying or conducting personal business (phone/email) on the job.
- Refrain from having family or friends visit during scheduled work times.
- Attend all student staff meetings or training sessions unless you have a scheduled class or exam.
- Not work at your job during times you are scheduled to be in class.
- Observe policies on confidentiality for all University, department and student records, and information.
- Schedule your lunch and rest breaks in advance and get your supervisor's approval.
- Not eat or study during your scheduled shift, unless approved by your supervisor.
- Maintain appropriate dress and personal grooming.
- Notify your supervisor in advance if you will be absent from work - frequent absences are a justifiable cause for dismissal.
- Inform your supervisor of any plans to end employment. The customary notification time period is two weeks.
Conduct as a Student Employee
A student employee is expected to meet certain standards of conduct which would ordinarily be expected of an employee representing the University in any position. Supervisors are responsible for communicating standards of conduct to student employees upon their hire.
Dress Requirements and Grooming
The University expects that each student employee’s appearance, personal hygiene, and dress will be neat, clean and appropriate to the job. The department is responsible for establishing and communicating dress guidelines for student employees, and any requirements for wearing protective clothing and/or equipment due to the nature of the job responsibilities.
Driver's License Requirements for Driving State Vehicles
All students driving on University business are required to have a valid driver's license and receive clearance from the Service Center: https://inside.sou.edu/sc/driver-clearance.html. The driver requesting clearance must present their name and date of birth to the Service Center at least 3 weeks in advance. For students with out-of-state driver's licenses, the student is responsible for obtaining and providing a certified driving record from the state in which the student was originally licensed. Students may be reimbursed for the cost of out of state records by their hiring department. Students driving vans for University activities are required to be on a "Certified Van Drivers List" maintained by the Service Center. Certification is accomplished by successfully completing a special van driver's training session conducted at the beginning of each term by the Service Center.
Student employees transporting other students, faculty or staff on University business in a privately owned vehicle must adhere to the University's vehicle safety, operation and maintenance policies.