The Kieval Lecture Series

A lecture series endowed by the late Harry S. Kieval for speakers to address broad popular aspects of mathematics that are attractive to undergraduates and the general public. The speakers meet with students and faculty informally, in addition to giving two to four public lectures.


2022 Kieval Lecture Series:  Dr. Vrushali Bokil, Oregon State University

Monday, May 9, and Tuesday, May 10

Professor Vrushali Bokil was born in India and moved to the United States for graduate studies. She received her Ph.D. in Mathematics from the University of Houston in 2003. Before coming to Oregon State University, she was a postdoctoral research associate at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC. Professor Bokil is currently a full Professor of Mathematics and the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies in the College of Science at Oregon State University. Professor Bokil is an applied and computational mathematician specializing in computational understanding of wave phenomena and in the mathematical aspects of epidemic dynamics.

Professor Bokil will be giving three lectures: 

Mathematics - A Language for Understanding Love, Life, and the Universe on Monday at 3:30 pm, Science Building, Room 151

Optimal Control of Plant Disease Epidemics, Monday at 9:30 pm, Science Building 207

Diversity, Equity, Access & Inclusion Lecture: Mindfulness and Anti-Oppression in Science, Tuesday 9:30 a.m, Churchill Hall Room 229/30

Click Here for Details

To learn more about our speaker, Dr. Vrushali Bokil, visit:

Previous lecturers in this series have included: