Employees of Southern Oregon University (SOU) or qualified family members of SOU employees, who meet requirements listed below are eligible for the employee tuition rate set at 30% of resident, undergraduate tuition, in addition to appropriate fees.  Internal Revenue code section 117 mandates that educational assistance provided to family members of SOU employees enrolled in advanced degree programs or graduate-level classes for credit be reported as taxable income.  The difference between the reduced tuition and the regular graduate tuition will be taxed.  Only one staff member, spouse, domestic partner or dependent may use the staff fee benefit per term or semester.

Retired employees and employees on leave are eligible for employee tuition privileges. Subject to approval by the president, the maximum credit-hour limitation may be waived for retired employees and employees on leave.

No application fee will be required of SOU staff members who are eligible for the staff rate.

Staff rates for online courses are available to SOU employees only (may not be transferred) with an additional $65/credit hour delivery fee assessed for those courses. (Staff rates will not apply to the online MBA program)

Completed forms should be sent to Michele Barlow, in Human Resource Services.

Please note that the submission of the Staff Tuition form to Human Resources does not enroll you for the class. You will still need to follow the appropriate steps for enrollment.

Staff Fee Employee 
  Staff Fees Transfer